Learn Italian and enjoy your holiday with my family

My name is Lucia and I will be glad to give you one-to-one, personalized Italian language tuition while living in my home as a member of the family.

I am a friendly person who loves teaching her own language and taking foreign visitors sightseeing involving them in the area in which I live. The lake district is a short drive from my home and there are many other places of interest to visit such as the Alps, a botanical garden, lakes and natural reserves. This gives visitors all year round activities as Lake Orta, Lake Maggiore and Lake Mergozzo, close to my home, are safe for swimming, relaxing, and walking while the Alps in winter offer skiing and in summer beautiful excursions. In both seasons "breathtaking sight-seeing never stops".

I promise your holiday will be unforgettable!

As I have many interests, I can offer the students a wide range of possibilities to learn Italian. I teach the language sitting at a table doing exercises, going sightseeing, reading a newspaper or watching and discussing a film, all this according to the student's preferences and level.

I'd be also happy to cook together, if you like, I make my bread myself and the wonderful "paniscia", a particular Piedmontese risotto!


I can host a single student or a couple. The students would be welcome to get involved in the family's activities in order to have a full and pleasant immersion in the language and life style. I always try to meet my guests' interests: from wineries to outlets, from museums to wonderful natural spots, from the lakes to the mountains and meeting friends, all year round.

I have a daughter, 41, and a son, 38. They live on their own but they are always friendly with my guests. They are both artists, Mara works with animals, loves singing and makes craftworks, Roby runs a theatre and his own Music Academy where he teaches acustic guitar.



I live in Borgomanero. It is not very big (21,000 people) but it offers a varied and more than adequate shopping facility where visitors can enjoy, sitting in one of many coffee bars, the Italian lifestyle.

There is a library which is in our local park, three cinemas, a swimming-pool (there are another two open-air swimming pools nearby), a basket-ball court, aerobic gyms (spin, etc.) sauna, esthetists, a bus station and a railway station, restaurants and pizzerias.

The town in crossed by a small river so there are also three bridges. There are frequent live performances during the summer months, and an endless list of social activities for all tastes. It is a short train journey from Milan and Turin, two major cities in the north of Italy.

The area surrounding the town is very beautiful and green. Orta and its lake are 10 km. away and Arona, on Lake Maggiore, 11 km. We can reach the mountains in an hour by car or visit a beautiful natural reserve. My apartment is a ten minutes' walk from the centre of the town and it is very peaceful. The students will have their own private bedroom and private bathroom.

mmmmm borgo

mmmmmmmFriday Street market



Teaching Qualifications and Experiences: Diploma Superiore Traduttori Interpreti (1975), swimming-pool life-guard (1994), tourist operator (1995). Long experience as a translator and a teacher of English and Italian languages.

Hobbies and interests: Sports (cycling, swimming, walking), music, sewing, reading.

e-mail me: luciadezuani@gmail.com
vvvvor: luciadezuani@hotmail.it
or: lucia.dezuani@inwind.it
for any further information.

I will reply immediately, but if you do not receive a reply in two days' time, please write again!


Read the interview on
Dream of Italy